Day 4: a victory!

Let’s just dispense with the chitchat and get right to today’s victory! BF had to work late but I didn’t get the message till I was already in the gym parking lot. And instead of wasting time waiting for him for an hour, I hit the gym by myself. This is a HUGE deal for me because until Monday I’d only very rarely used free weights and I had never ventured into the “man cave” of a gym’s weights area alone. And today I thought, what the hell. I know enough to do a decent upper body workout.  And I just got to business and did it. I am fucking awesome.

Unrelated. My brother made a comment that really struck me after he read through my previous posts. He said, “don’t apologize for eating the cookie. If you want the cookie, eat the cookie.” And I understand why he’d say that. A cookie or a slice of cake may not be ideal for your body but it’s good for your soul. And it was a delicious cookie, and it was only one. So yeah, just eat the damn cookie. But there is a difference between eating 1 cookie and eating 12. Which I have done. That’s the thing I want to work on: when faced with 12 cookies, establish whether I actually want one, and if I do, stop at 1 (or 2, or even 3. Just not 12). I don’t want to die regretting that I never ate the cookie – but I am fairly sure that I will not regret moderating my cookie consumption.

Fitness today:
walked 4.14 miles + .82 (gym warmup)
strength training: Upper body.  2-arm dumbbell chest press, 1-arm row, long bar row, modified pushups

Food today:
Breakfast: 2 eggs, 1/2 avocado, 1 slice wh wh toast, salsa, dollop Greek yogurt
Snack: grapes
Lunch: Leftover halibut and chicken breast, olives, sliced bell pepper
Snack: low fat string cheese
Dinner: pork shoulder/black eyed pea chili and salad with blue cheese vinaigrette

2 thoughts on “Day 4: a victory!

  1. hooray for victories, big and small. i think this is a big victory! i, too, have been intimidated many times by the free weights section, so i recognize what a huge deal that is. you’re right…. you are fucking awesome! congrats on your day 4 victory. 🙂

    • Thanks! I think after a month or 2 after I know more lifts and how to combine them into a good workout I won’t be so intimidated. They’re just tools after all (the weights… No comment on the lifters). Knowledge is confidence.

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

