Day 8: superhero-powered exercise

I have a superhero alter ego. This is Magnifica:

Magnifica

She’s a lot like me, but strong and fit. She has my bionic right leg. She has my hair and face. She has my blue and black workout gear. She wears a kickass orange running shoe because spike-heeled boots are so impractical for running and world-saving. But, unlike me, she can generate energy, which aside from vanquishing evil, powers her workouts – and mine. This morning I was exhausted and didn’t want to go for my C25k run, but I put on my Magnifica disguise and my Magnifica mindset settled over me: let’s do this.

The first day of C25k week 2 day 1: tough for me; easy peasy for Magnifica. When I wanted to jog slower, Magnifica pushed herself, forcing me to push myself too — I don’t want to overdo it, but I do want to work as hard as I reasonably can to maximize my workouts. When I wondered whether I could take another step, Magnifica paused at the next streetlight and zapped me with her energy beam, challenging me to catch her, and I kept right on jogging.  And next thing I knew, the podcast was over and I had finished W2D1.

You can create your own superhero at heromachine. If you do, I’d love to see him or her – think about uploading an image in the comments here, or post it on your blog and link back to me so I know to check it out.

Steve over at Nerd Fitness talks about finding your inner superhero.

Help me find a theme song for Magnifica! Something that can power up my workouts and something a badass superheroine would love. (No Justin Bieber. Magnifica would eat him for lunch without a second thought.) If you have suggestions, please leave a comment. 

Fitness today
Miles to Mordor: 4.21 miles (c25k 2.23, walked 0.96, gym warm up .92)
C25k: week 2 day 1, 2.23 miles
Strength training: lower body– body weight squats 4×5, lunges 4×5, dead lift 1×3 80 & 2×5 75.

Food today
Breakfast: 2 eggs cooked in 1 tsp butter, a spoon of salsa, dollop Greek yogurt, 1 piece wh wh toast
Snack: low fat string cheese
Lunch: shrimp/onion/snow pea stir fry
Snack: Greek yogurt with olive oil and cilantro
Snack: 2 low fat string cheese
Dinner: salad (grilled chicken, lettuce, carrot, tomato, grapes, a sprinkling each pistachios and blue cheese, light honey mustard dressing)

2 thoughts on “Day 8: superhero-powered exercise

    • It’s like distilling the best parts of yourself and letting only those parts be in charge, just for a little while.

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

