Day 13: hike day!

First things first: hike day! Today the BF and I made attempt number 2 at the Sweetwater Trail along Folsom Lake and the American River, and this time we actually navigated to the right place, found the trailhead, and hiked!

IMG_1217

I love the Sierra Nevada foothills and the Central Valley. Absolutely gorgeous, and the home of great hiking weather. We logged 6.85 miles – the trail plus a couple of side trails. One led us to someone’s (very, very expensive and expansive) house. Oops. But worth it for the discovery: strangely, they had a discgolf course in their backyard. What a strange thing to own. The other side trail let us explore a gorgeous meadow. Loved the lone tree and the funny little bridge to nowhere.

IMG_1209

The good news: we hiked. The bad news: I think I might have a stress fracture in my left foot. It was in agony for the last two miles. The pain lessened a little but not completely when I took my boot off. The pain runs along the lateral edge of my left foot, but not up towards my ankle and is centered about an inch below the spot where my pinky toe and fourth toe join together. The pain is worse when stepping down and especially when pushing off to take a step; when standing still or sitting it doesn’t bother me so much. I need to see a podiatrist. 😦

On the way home from the hike, we stopped at the Lockdown Brewing Company in Folsom (of Folsom Prison fame… lockdown… ha ha) to have a root beer. Their beer is good but their root beer is just incredible; this coming from someone who doesn’t like pop that much. Not too fizzy, with lots of vanilla and cinnamon. It was more sugar than I’ve had in almost 2 weeks… and it was worth every single empty calorie.

fitness today
Hiked 6.9 miles

food today
Breakfast: 2 eggs, 1/2 avocado, 1 slice Dave’s killer bread, 1 small tomato, salsa, Greek yogurt
Snack: 1 root beer
Lunch: leftover African peanut stew
Snack: leftover African peanut stew (again)
Dinner: green pepper stuffed with ground beef, bacon, mushrooms, cabbage, carrot, onion

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

