Day 18: NEWS!!!

News! Of the good kind! I saw the podiatrist today. I had x-rays. NO FRACTURE. Based on my description of the problem (only comes on while wearing my hiking boots, after 2-3 miles, pain doesn’t radiate), it is probably not tendonitis or a trapped nerve. The doctor watched me walk and he thinks it’s just a gait issue! I am a supinator/underpronator, so that while my heel hits the ground properly, I then bear the majority of my weight on the lateral edge of my foot, which doesn’t transfer weight to the medial ball of my foot and big toe.

What to do about it: it only seems to be a problem in my hiking boots. So I’m taking in my OTC insoles (Superfeet) and the doctor will do a manual adjustment to see if that takes care of the problem. If not, I may need custom orthodics (expensive…).

More good news: no activity restrictions — I can do all my normal activities to tolerance. That means: back to C25k, back to walking, back my normal strength training.

Feeling awesome.

Fitness today
Nada. Resting foot.

Food today
Breakfast: 2 eggs cooked in 1tsp bacon fat, 1/2 tomato, 1 slice Dave’s Killer Bread
Snack:kind bar, sweet potato tortilla chips
Lunch: salad (lettuce, tomato, onion, clean ranch, leftover taco meat)
Snack: 1 low fat string cheese
Dinner: meatloaf, sweet potatoes, sautéed kale

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

