Day 21: week 3 FINISHED. Here’s to moving forward.

3 weeks down! Successes over the last 3 weeks: I have made food choices I feel good about with only a couple exceptions, and since I believe in 80/20 living, that’s okay. I have learned how to deadlift and I can do more bodyweight squats and modified pushups than I could when I started strength training, so I am stronger. I have covered over 10% of the distance to Rivendell and sometimes I actually want to run, so my endurance has improved. The big challenge this week: foot pain that led to a week off from exercise and a trip to the podiatrist. I am still not back to 100% and I am trying to take it easy because I don’t want to jeopardize my fitness in the long run. (Surprise positive side effect of said foot pain: prescribed contrast baths. I had never heard of this before. It is AMAZING, it’s like a mini spa treatment twice a day.)

A failure: no hike this weekend (sad sad sad). BF filed a tax extension this year and waited till the last minute to work on the tax returns. Huge mistake. He worked at 4 different jobs in 2012, in 3 different states, with accompanying moves from place to place. He’s worked on taxes all weekend. When it became clear that the tax completion software didn’t account well for multi-state income (basically, for each state, it assessed state income tax for income earned in all states, when it should only assess state income tax for income earned in that state), It probably would have been preferable to just suck it up and manually complete paper returns, but he’s stubborn about computer stuff and preferred to fight with buggy software all weekend. So, no hike. 😦

It’s easy to make excuses — BF had to do taxes! Oh well, guess I don’t have time to exercise! — but instead I tried to make the best of it: I dragged him out for a walk on both Saturday and Sunday, because it’s good to just get up and move, even if it’s not a hike. Confession: on Saturday, we walked to Starbucks and back, because BF needed a motivator. Success: although the pumpkin spice latte was tempting, I had the vanilla cinnamon rooibos tea. Oh my god. Delicious. I did not regret my choice. I might go back and buy a box to have at home. Even though we didn’t go for a hike, have a couple pictures anyway — this is the park near our apartment complex where I do my C25k runs. It’s gorgeous!

IMG_1231

IMG_1232

Fitness summary to date (progress charts at the link):
Miles to Mordor: 60.86. That’s 13.29% of the distance to Rivendell and 3.42% of the distance to Mordor.
Other than walking (which I actually measured on Saturday and Sunday), I took this week off from fitness activities to avoid aggravating the foot issue. So, no updates on C25k or strength training, but you can see my progress as of last week at the link.

Fitness today
Walked 3.01 miles

Food today
Brunch: sweet potato scramble (leftover sweet potatoes which had been cooked with a little olive oil, 2 eggs, 1 oz cheddar, all cooked in maybe 1/2 tsp coconut oil), 1/4 avocado
Snack: banana with PB2
Snack: 2 low fat string cheese
Dinner: stir fry (chicken thigh, mushrooms, bell pepper, onion, broccoli, carrot; prepped with coconut oil, Thai red chili paste, chicken broth, coconut cream)

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

