Day 29: menstruation and fitness

Back in Sac. Our kitty was so happy to see us. 🙂

I’ve eaten a lot today but it’s all been healthy choices especially compared with this weekend. This morning I did body weight exercises around the apartment instead of going to the gym. I stopped at 4 circuits. I should have done 6 but I’ve just felt so deflated today. I can also tell that I’m grumpy and touchy (impressive given that I’ve been alone all day). Plus I slept for 3 hours in the middle of the day, which is pretty unusual. Then I woke up with cramps, and here I am staring at my blog ready to burst into tears. Conclusion: I’m starting my period soon. The best part of being a woman, amirite, ladies? [Crickets]

I spent a lot of time this afternoon reading about menstrual cycles and fitness. Our cycles have significant effects on our bodies: rapid hormone changes cause bloating, food cravings, physical weakness, exhaustion, and of course the thing that drives all our loved ones crazy, the emotional roller coaster.

So what is a woman who wants to live a healthy lifestyle supposed to do when just the thought of going to the gym – let alone picking up something heavy – makes her want to cry? Or when the “fuck-its” set in? (you know… it’s just one cookie. fuck it. just one more cookie. fuck it.” Times 12.)

First and foremost: go easy on yourself. IT’S OKAY TO MAKE MISTAKES. 80/20 and all that.

In my case, though, I just had a monster eat weekend, and to be blunt, I don’t really have the wiggle room for a few more days of “fuck-its.” So I have to figure out a way to make good choices despite everything in my body screaming at me to do the exact opposite. So here are my goals over the next few days:

Gentle exercise. Today I stopped after 4 short circuits of body weight exercises and it was enough. How to apply it to your own life: if you lift heavy, think about deloading a little. If you run, shave off a mile. Or if you just can’t face pushing yourself that hard, take a walk or do a little yoga.

If I absolutely cannot fight that craving for something “bad”, I can still have something healthy that tastes sinful. I found a recipe for a PMS cookie using avocado and protein powder instead of flour and butter. It’s high calorie but it packs a huge nutritional punch. Or there’s this butternut squash cake which is also incredibly nutritious but for less calories (though I would use regular all purpose flour… I find things made with gluten free flours to be grainy). I should have BF stop at the store on the way home to pick up a squash…

DRINK LOTS OF WATER. It helps. It really does.

Fitness today
Walked .48 miles
Strength training: push circuits: body weight squats, incline pushups, medicine ball push-press

Food today
Snack: Greek yogurt with nut/seed granola
Breakfast: 2 eggs with 3 oz hamburger and 1/4 cup sweet potato
Snack: 1 1/2 chicken thighs
Lunch: 2 eggs with 3 oz hamburger and 1/4 cup sweet potato
Snack: 1 kind bar
Snack: 10 olives, 12 multigrain crackers
Dinner: 2 1/2 slices butternut squash cake

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

