Day 45: battles, part 2

I have been struggling more or less since our quick trip to San Francisco a few weeks ago. I’ve been eating either too much or not enough, almost never enough protein, and motivating myself to workout has been really hard. Two days in a row I ate a whole box of pasta (which I almost never keep in the house but it was on sale and I caved). It was not even remotely satisfying either day. I’m sleeping a lot.

So I’ve ended up in a vicious circle: feeling lazy and sad has led me to make poor food choices which saps my energy which makes working out harder than it otherwise would be so I don’t work out which upsets my body’s hunger/fullness habits which means I make even worse food decisions etc etc. I was at the gym this morning with the personal trainer and everything was so hard. Andrew could tell that I was not on my A game. His first question: are you eating enough?

Food has multiple functions: it can be a source of pleasure (perfectly healthy) or something we use because we are sad or bored (not healthy). But at its most basic, it is fuel: it provides the energy we need to carry out our day to day activities. We need to eat ENOUGH (way more than conventional wisdom dictates) in order to fuel our bodies and not be exhausted all the time. And that has never been more clear to me than it was this morning.

I am incredibly frustrated because I am essentially sabotaging myself. I have been avoiding this blog but I decided this morning after a somewhat disastrous workout that NO MATTER WHAT I had to write an entry today.

So here are my goals for the next 7 days: blog every day and get enough protein. Blogging keeps me honest about what I’m putting in my body and protein gives me energy.

Fitness today
Walking warmup, walkouts, dumbbell push press, cable rows (2 arm, 1 arm), rowing machine HIIT.

Food today
9.30: 2 eggs, 1/4 avocado, 1 slice Dave’s killer bread, 2/3 cup Greek yogurt
11.30: 1 kind bar
1.30: grilled salmon, 1/2 sweet potato with 1 oz goat cheese, cabbage sautéed in a little olive oil
3.30: 2/3 cup Greek yogurt, 2 tbsp nuts/seeds
5pm: strawberry ice cream, 1 kind bar
8pm: 5 olives, taco salad (ground beef, lettuce, salsa, bell pepper, Greek yogurt)

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

