Day 60: fitness progress

Today I ran 20 minutes without stopping! (The dreaded C25k week 5 day 3.) It was a lot harder for my brain than for my body.

Fact 1: I ran Very Slowly. Shuffled, sorta.
Fact 2: After the first 10 minutes, I strongly considered walking 5 minutes and then jogging 10 minutes.
Fact 3: I thought about my inner superhero, and all the fitness/weight loss bloggers I read who work so hard, and the fantastic folks at Eat the Food and Girls Gone Strong, and the first time my strong, beautiful sister flexed her kettlebell-hardened biceps and bragged, “Check out this gun show!”, and I kept on running. Thank you to all of the people who inspire me every day.

I have done my trainer-designed total body workout 4 sessions now: last Wednesday, Friday, Monday, and yesterday. It’s going well and I can already tell I’m making gains with it. I know a lot of fitness folks advocate changing your workouts  so you’re always actively recruiting different muscles and challenging your body, but I strongly prefer to have a relatively consistent workout — it’s easier to remember and it’s easier to see progress. The best workout program is the one you’ll stick with.

Anyway, if you’re looking for a simple strength training program that you can do on your own, here’s my total body workout – it takes about 40 minutes, it gets me sweating, and you don’t have to worry about barbells (I’ll get there eventually). You can watch videos of all exercises on youtube or fitocracy.

Warmup – 5 minute walk at 3.5-4 mph, 15 bodyweight squats
Superset 1 (1:30-2:00 between supersets): 3 reps of 15 goblet squats, 20 1-leg Romanian deadlifts (10 each leg)
Superset 2: 3 reps of 10 incline pushups, 10 standing cable rows
Superset 3 (seated on swiss ball): 3 reps of 12 wide grip cable pulldowns, 12 overhead dumbbell shoulder presses
Superset 4: 2 reps of 10 bodyweight squats, 5 hand walkouts
Stretch

Fitness today
Miles to Mordor: C25k week 5 day 3 (!!!!), walking

Food today
Breakfast: 1 slice DKB, 1 oz jack cheese, 2 eggs, sriracha, 2 cups tea
Lunch: cod, roasted broccoli/cauliflower
Snack: 2 string cheese, 1 apple
Dinner: chicken curry, brown rice, salad (lettuce, vinaigrette)

4 thoughts on “Day 60: fitness progress

  1. Wow your C25K run sounds like it when brilliant 🙂 I’ve got this one to do but I’ve had to a take a small break, Sounds like a tough one! Nice to read your post though 🙂 What’s Miles to Mordor? It sounds interesting 🙂

    • Miles to Mordor: someone on the internet figured out how many miles the hobbits walked from home to Mordor in Lord of the Rings. Now I log all my walking and jogging miles and I figure that eventually I’ll “make it to Mordor”. 🙂 I have really enjoyed c25k, I’m really slow but it’s pretty amazing when I think that just a few weeks ago I was huffing and puffing after a 30 second jog. 🙂 I do think that regular strength training has made a difference.

  2. Well done on completing W5D3. That non-stop run is a real mental challenge, but feels great once you’ve done it. I’m very slow too, but I figure it doesn’t really matter at this stage – as you say, we’ve all come along way since W1D1. 🙂

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

