Day 62: measurement day no. 2

Measurement Day No. 2 is here. I’ve been nervous because this month has been so hit and miss. So let’s have a look at the good/bad balance.

Bad: almost all of my measurements are up.
Bad: I gained 1.2 lbs this month.

Good: it’s a miracle it was only 1.2 lbs given how much my eating varied day to day this month.
Good: if the body fat monitor is to be believed, 1/2 a pound of that is MUSCLE!!! Strength training for the win! I think I can gain even more muscle next month if I am more consistent about getting enough protein.
Good: that means only ~.7 lbs of my weight gain was fat. <1 lb of fat gain is no big deal over the long term. And it means that even though I often felt like I ate way too much, my overall caloric intake was actually pretty good – a high carb, high fat, “eat big” month is actually eating at maintenance for my activity level. High five, self.

Month 2 measurements can be found here. Overview:
Weight: 250.2 (+1.2)
%Body fat: 41.6% (+.1%)
Lean body mass: 146.12 (+.45 lbs)
Measurements: all increased (waist, hip, biceps, thighs, neck). check the chart at the link for details.

WTF is up with my measurements? Is my left thigh really that much bigger than my right thigh? My thighs are THAT MUCH bigger than they were last month? Granted I’ve been squatting a lot, but an extra 1.2 lbs isn’t enough to change my thigh measurements THAT much since last month. And 1.2 lbs isn’t enough to change ALL my measurements that much. I think there’s a couple things going on here: first, I don’t think I’m consistent in how I take my measurements – where exactly the tape measure is placed on my body, how tight/loose the tape measure is – and second, menstrual bloating.

I didn’t take progress pics today. Will get back to that next month. Also, I will keep taking measurements, but I’m not putting too much faith in their accuracy. My conclusion about numbers and measuring progress after today: the only numbers that really matter are the weight on the bar and the time on the stopwatch. I can lift more weight than I could a month ago and I can run further and (marginally) faster than I could a month ago. That means I am fitter than I was a month ago. Because my ultimate goal is to be strong, fit, and healthy, I have to conclude that overall this month was a success, no matter the numbers on the scale and tape measure.

My total weight loss since I began this project is 12.8 lbs; over 9 weeks that’s an average of 1.4 lbs per week. That is square in the middle of the healthy, sustainable, moderate 1-2 lbs per week recommended by dietitians. So even if this month felt off, it doesn’t matter. Overall, I’m doing just fine.

I know this is long already, but I have to mention the amazing thing that happened today. I repeated C25k week 5 day 3 and hit my best distance of all my c25k runs so far!2.71 miles over 33 minutes, 20 of which was jogging. My calculations: 20 minutes jogging, 13 minutes walking at estimated 3.5 mph, therefore ~.75 miles walking, therefore ~1.96 miles running, therefore estimated average running pace of 5.88 mph, therefore estimated average running pace of 10.2 min/mile. NOT TOO SHABBY. At that rate, I will run nearly 3 miles in 30 minutes by the end of C25k, which will put me *really* close to the follow-up goal of 5k in 30 mins.

Fitness today
Miles to Mordor: C25k week 5 day 3 (repeat), + walking

Food today
Breakfast: taco omelet (2 eggs, splash milk, 1.5 oz ground beef, 1 oz cheddar, onion, bell pepper), salsa, 1 slice DKB, 1/4 avocado, 1 1/2 cups coffee with splash milk. 4-5 P, 1 C, 2 F
Snack: butter (maybe 1 1/2 tsp? I was making butter and you taste it a tiny bit at a time as you try to squeeze out the last of the buttermilk). 1-2 F
Dinner: salad (shrimp, lettuce, bell pepper, carrot, dressing), quesadilla (3 small corn tortillas, 2 oz cheddar, onion). 8 P, 3 C, 3 F

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

