Day 104: excuse me while I hide in the corner and hyperventilate…

…because I registered for two 5Ks today: this one and this one.

spongebob

One of my goals for 2014 is to finish 4+ 5Ks, so I was poking around the race finder at Runners World thinking I might find something in April or May that looked good. But there was a 5K in February that checked all the right boxes. It’s in Roseville (where I live). It’s a fun run (super low pressure). The entry fee was only 20 bux. It’s in support of a really neat organization that runs retreat weekends for folks with cancer and their families. So even though it’s in February I decided to go for it.

… um, one more thing. It’s on my birthday. I’m going to celebrate my 31st birthday by running. Fuck. Terrified and totally stoked. Better make sure I’m done with c25k by then and I’ve actually run 5k at least once. Should be easy enough, right? [Crickets]

And then I kept looking. There are so many cool races in the area. There’s a run through vineyards in Napa. There’s a trail run along Folsom Lake (that’s Folsom, as in Folsom Prison, as in Johnny Cash). But I ended up going for the Lagoon Valley 5K because, in addition to the great location (foothills of the Vaca Mountains, gravel/single-track, around a lake said to be inhabited by a lake monster haha) participants get super rad medals.

Boom. 2 races done by the end of March. Goal half met and still 9 months to go.

Uh, I’m going back to my corner to hyperventilate some more.

manny

Fitness today
Miles to Mordor: 4.03
C25k week 7 day 4 attempted, aborted (killer side stitch. I know better than to run on a full stomach and down a bunch of water before I run… I’ll repeat on Tuesday, normally a rest day for me, to finish out week 7. Too bad, because I had loads of energy and based on pace, I was on track to PR.)

In search of my TDEE
kCal: 2358
My caloric intake has been back to normal-ish the last couple days and it shows. Sleep is better and my energy level is more stable during the day. Lesson: keep eating and aim to match today’s pace for a complete run on Tuesday!

4 thoughts on “Day 104: excuse me while I hide in the corner and hyperventilate…

    • Scary stuff for someone who spent a lifetime wondering why people would ever willingly subject themselves to such torture… But I’m excited!

  1. Awesome!!! I’m sure you’ll do great!! And yes, it can be trouble just poking around for races. You’ll find SO many that look like fun – part of why I did 15 races in my first year of running! HAHA

    You got this. Just keep doing what you’re doing and you’ll do fantastic!

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

