Day 111: Fitness updates

C25k week 8 day 2 this morning. Grey, cool, damp. Please please please let it rain… it’s rained 3 (maybe 4?) times since I moved here 6 months ago (the Central Valley farmers must be freaking out, it’s apparently been an extremely dry year). I’m from the Northwest and went to university in Scotland and as much as I love the California weather, a little rain is really familiar and comforting.

A little of this, please! Photo by Travis Novitsky (http://www.travisnovitsky.com/keyword/washington)

A little of this, please! Photo by Travis Novitsky (http://www.travisnovitsky.com/keyword/washington)

I didn’t feel like running this morning, but I got new running tights yesterday and obviously they needed a test run, so off I went. I figured I’d take it really easy; even at a slow (uh, even slower than usual) pace it’s still running for 28 minutes straight, getting my heart rate up and my blood pumping. So much for that idea… distance and pace PRs. When you’re a super slow running newbie, progress comes pretty fast. It’s good motivation to keep going as it becomes an enjoyable habit; I know progress slows eventually.

It’s been awhile since I did a fitness update. Current PRs (detailed progress notes here for walking/running and here for strength training):

Miles to Mordor (as of 1/10/2014): 205.51 (44.87% of the way to Rivendell; 11.55% of the way to Mordor)
C25k: week 8 day 2 finished
longest running time 28:20 (1/9/14)
furthest distance  2.47mi (1/11/14)
fastest pace 11:17min/mi (1/11/14)
Goblet squat: 37.5lb. 1 x6, 1 x 7, 1 x 8. (1/10/14)
1-leg RDL: 3 x 10 x 17.5lb (I’ve never increased weight, but I can go a little deeper and am a little more balanced)
Wide-grip lat pulldown: 94 lb. 1 x 6, 1 x 8, 1 x 7 (1/10/14)
Seated dumbbell shoulder press: 3 x 8 x 22.5lb (1/10/14)
Incline push-up (3 sets to failure): 2 x 15, 1 x 12 (1/10/14)
Standing cable row: 106 lb. 1 x 8, 1 x 6, 1 x 7 (1/10/14)
Plank (1 set to failure): 1 x 3:00 (1/11/14)

Other progress (pretty cool): when I flex, my biceps, quads, and traps are visible. Like, whoa, muscles.

All in all, I’m pleased with my progress and I’m pretty proud of myself for sticking with it and coming this far!

(Bonus late night update: it rained!!! For 12 whole minutes.)

Fitness today:
C25k week 8 day 2, planks, stretching

In search of my TDEE:
kCal: 2327

7 thoughts on “Day 111: Fitness updates

    • Lol I’m sure Sam and Frodo would think I’m nuts for making that my destination. 🙂

      Honestly I enjoy running (and the satisfaction after I finish) a lot more than I expected, which has been a nice surprise and good motivation.

  1. Wow you have logged some miles! I decided to give the Mordor challenge a bash. I’m logging most (I keep forgetting to turn my app on) walks and runs. So far I’ve done. 31.68…I’m miles behind!!

    • I’ve been racking up miles a lot faster since I started using my fitbit because of all the miles I walk just going about my day. When I was just using my phone to log jogging and “intentional walks” I was missing out on a lot of miles. But even at 3-5 miles per day it’s pretty slow, I’ll be at this for awhile!

  2. Very nice accomplishments!! And congrats on the whole 12 minutes of rain. You should have been here on Friday and Saturday. I feel like it never stopped for 48 hours! LOL

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

