Day 148: negative splits!

I ran this morning. It was supposed to be a strength training day but it is raining!!! And we all know how I feel about rain (love), and how sad the California drought is making me. I have not gotten to run in the rain once since starting I started my fitness training back in September. So really, it had to be done. And it was every bit as amazing as I hoped. I felt so good while I was running, I haven’t felt this good on a run in a while. I changed my route just a little bit — instead of running part of the loop twice, I made a “lollipop” – partway through the loop I turned off my usual route and made a “lollipop stick” with the normal loop as the round sugary candy part. I really liked it and I think I will make it my usual route. Anyway, I felt so energized this morning on my run, that this happened:

20140207-120336.jpg

That’s negative splits almost the whole run (which I didn’t set out to do). It wasn’t *quite* my fastest average pace, but it’s my fastest average pace since I started running 30 minutes; and it’s the most consistent my pace has been without slowing way down. What with the rain and the results from my run today, I feel amazing.

Fitness today
Running: 30 minutes.

In search of my TDEE
2408 kCal
Eating more intuitively means I eat weird stuff sometimes. Yesterday in wanted cookie batter, so I ate a lot of cookie batter. Today I wanted lots of fruit. After eating a bunch of pears I stared at a bowl of Greek yogurt thinking, “I don’t want this, I want more fruit.” So I ate an apple (I’d eaten the last pear already). It was delicious and satisfying.

5 thoughts on “Day 148: negative splits!

  1. You belong up here if you love rain. Seems like that’s all we get throughout the year. I’m pretty sure us Seattlites are half vampire. Glad you enjoyed your rain run. I think you would appreciate the weather far more than me.

    Funny you mentioned eating fruit – I was craving apples yesterday and today so that’s something I’ve been eating raw. Usually I like to cut it up, throw cinnamon on it, and microwave it but not this week! Oh yeah, and I had my fair share of cookie dough last week, too.

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

