On ankles

1. Something is better than nothing.
2. Don’t let the perfect be the enemy of the good.

With that in mind, this weekend I started an ankle rehab program-just a couple different exercises. It’s early days but starting small was, it turned out, the clever option because by the evening my ankle was pretty sore–just from using it in ways I never have to. And today after work, I added in body weight squats. The whole thing took about 15 minutes. There’s room for added complexity but still plenty of progress over the next few weeks. And it’s what I tell OTHER people all the time: do what you can because doing something is better than nothing.

It’s not a 5k, or 10x50lb goblet squats, but it’s SOMETHING, and I feel good about it. Here’s what I did:
1. Toe walks/heel walks/side of foot walks on grass: 10 sets each of 10 steps forward+10 steps backward.
2. 2×10 1-leg standing calf raises transitioning to…standing calf dips? I don’t have a name for the second part of this.
3. bent-leg calf stretch against the wall x20 seconds–great for ankle ROM
4. Kneeling–great for ankle ROM

5×10 body weight squats. My glutes will be sore tomorrow because it’s been awhile since I squatted.

If I can fit this in just 1 more work day, I’m set till this weekend, when maybe I can add in another ankle exercise and another bodyweight exercise, and build slowly to half an hour. I am hoping so hard for a manageable week at work.