A walk

I realized something today: my job is really hard, but not for the reason I initially would have expected (hard work, challenging, heavy caseload; though it is all those things too).

I am an introvert. (INFJ if you’re into Myers Briggs.) Contrary to popular belief, that doesn’t mean I dislike people (I like people a lot! I love a great conversation. Although I can be pretty awkward at parties…), or even that I don’t want to spend time with them. It just means that spending time alone restores my energy, whereas spending time with people exhausts my energy. It’s opposite for extroverts.

As a speech language pathologist, I make my living by spending time with people. Lots of people. Constantly. If I’m not with a patient I’m consulting with the PT or OT. Or nurses. Or doctors. Or dietitians. Or kitchen staff. Its a neat job, always interesting, but for an introvert, inherently exhausting. I talk about hating the insane commute, and I do, but really the exhausting part is less the commute and more the job itself, simply because I am an introvert and people make me tired.

Today was a light day and I headed home early. Even with the commute I was home before 5. It felt pretty amazing. After I got home I took an hourlong walk in the sunshine. I’m about to go do some ankle exercises and maybe some squats if I feel up to it after the ankle stuff. Maybe TMI but my digestive system has been pretty unhappy today and the walk sorted that out. There are so many benefits to physical activity beyond reshaping bodies and weight loss. I feel GOOD and I will sleep well tonight. And all I did was take a walk.