A goal for June

The BF and I were talking about heading down to Joshua Tree for the Leonids meteor shower in November. I want my fitness level to be better so I can hike! That means moving more. It’s not just exercise, it’s training.

So, my goal for June: Walk 10000 steps (and continue working on my ankle) every day. That will mean a walk every day, but nothing crazy–I get in more than half that at work every day. And I enjoy my weekend walks.

It’s an achievable goal. Today is June 1. Off for a walk… Right after we get back from Maleficent. 🙂

In other news, I’ve been wearing the fitbit and tracking calories with MFP and I’m feeling fine about both. No strong feelings, positive OR negative, which is exactly how I want to feel about those things: neutral. I’m still not setting any specific nutrition goals. I’m giving myself time to settle back into the groove of healthy behavior. Slow and steady etc.

Can I just take a moment though to get super excited about a recipe I found on Thug Kitchen for a watermelon cucumber mint slushy which is basically summer in a glass. It’s a great way to get heaps of fruit and it is super yummy.

Put this stuff in a blender:

4 cups chopped seedless watermelon (I used a melon baller), frozen at least 4 hours (overnight is fine, and it will keep longer in a ziplock bag)
1/2 cup peeled chopped cucumber
A big handful of mint leaves
Lime juice to taste (2-4 tbsp)
3/4 cup water OR 1/4 cup water + 1/2 cup alcohol (I used rum but I bet tequila or white wine would also be yummy… Or vodka if that’s your thing, but it makes me gag)

Blend it up until smooth. Makes 2 BIG glasses of summery slush.

I’ve also made it without booze. Equally delicious.

One thought on “A goal for June

Comment here. Fair warning: fat shaming and pro-ana "thinspiration" will get you banned.

